My Marshmallow Creme Dilemma….

Last night, as I was cruising the isles of Save-A-Lot….(one of my favorite pastimes I must say), at the end of the baking isle I spotted THIS….

 

 

Jet Puffed Marshmallow Creme.  What was unusual about that, you ask?  Well, it was marked down…from $.99….to $.50…..

Ooo….ooo….Good Deal Alert!!!!

 

Should I stock up??  (I’m asking myself….)

Okay, and I might have discussed it with the butcher.

‘Cause that’s just me.

 

Well, I’ve NEVER used it before…..so I know I can live without it…..

How about this.  I’ll go home, research some recipes it’s used for, and come back for “the kill” if I decide I can use it.

The butcher agreed.

(Okay, I don’t think he was ACTUALLY the butcher, I think he was a “checker” who just happened to be wearing the butcher’s white gloves and stocking up the meat for the night.)

 

I digress.

 

So it appears to me, that (besides using it for emergency “smores” and “rice krispie treats”) by far and wide the most common use for marshmallow cream is……

FUDGE.

Photo Credit

It sounds like the fudge recipe is usually on the back/side of the container, but if not…..find it HERE!

Okay, I make fudge.  (Well, not until Thanksgiving, but still.)

 

Next…..

Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures tells how she made this heavenly looking Marshmallow Cream Frosting (like the cream inside of a “twinkie” or an “oatmeal pie”).  Find her great site….HERE… Thanks, Lynn!

Marshmallow Creme Filling

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1 7oz jar marshmallow creme

Mix with a mixer (about 3 minutes) until light and fluffy.

 

Umm, yeah.  That looks good.  (Gonna be honest though, looks like something I would very rarely make!)

Next…

Quick Cupcakes with Marshmallow Butter Cream Frosting

Abby Dodge has a great post titled, “Quick Chocolate Cupcakes With Marshmallow Butter Cream Frosting,” and her readers commented that it is “silly-easy yet remarkably chocolate-y and delicious!”

Here are her ingredients…..check out her site HERE for the detailed instructions!

Shortcut Marshmallow Butter Cream Frosting

  • 16 tablespoons (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 jar (7 ounces) marshmallow “Fluff”
  • 3/4 cup (3 ounces) confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon table salt
  • Colored Sprinkles, for garnish (optional)

 

Okay, FROSTING!! If I could get away with not using so much butter (butter is expensive, you know:) this could be a real savings for me!

And last but not least….

Meal Planning With Connie tells how she makes Peanut Butter/Marshmallow Creme on Crackers……and then procedes to show how she learned from a friend how to make…..

Peanut Butter and Marshmallow Creme Sandwiches…TOASTED (like you would a grilled cheese).

My kids are gonna love this woman.

Find her great blog….HERE…

(Sounds healthy, too.)

(not.)

🙂

Well, I think that’s enough research for me!   I’m pretty sure I’ll be making another trip up to Save-A-Lot to bring home some Jet Puffed Marshmallow Creme home to my stockpile.

Maybe not a whole case.

That would be overdoing it.

 

A half of a case will do just fine.

 

Love you,

 

 

P.S.  I’d love to hear how you use marshmallow creme!!

 

Photo Credit for feature image…

Comments
10 Responses to “My Marshmallow Creme Dilemma….”
  1. I love to use Marshmallow Creme in a fruit dip.

    I carton of Strawberry cream cheese
    1 jar of Marshmallow Creme

    Mix together and chill. It’s wonderful to dip apples, strawberries, or grapes in.

  2. Melinda says:

    You are KILLING me! BUT, I love you and fudge is always good! 😉 Glad you stuck to the half-case.

  3. Ginger says:

    I also have used it for years in fruit dip, but I just use a block of softened regular (or light) cream cheese and a jar of Marshmallow Creme. Hit it with a mixer and you’re done! Everyone loves it! The strawberry version does sound good, though!

    My other favorite use for Marshmallow Creme is S’more Dip:
    Microwave 1 1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips and 1 can sweetened condensed milk on High 1-2 minutes, stirring occasionally, until chips are melted. Pour into 9 inch glass pie pan.

    Drop 1/2 c. marshmallow creme (or more) by tablespoons randomly over chocolate mixture. Microwave on High about 30 seconds. Immediately swirl through with knife, making a marbled appearance.

    Serve immediately with graham crackers.

    If you want to take it to an event/potluck, you can make it ahead of time and just heat it up in the microwave when you get there!

  4. Jennifer Little says:

    Just found your website… love your humor, love your ideas and I will be making fruit dip very soon! Strawberry season is here! Praise the Lord! ; ) I’m going to go to Sav-A-Lot but I promise not to clean the shelves… I’ll just get 2 or 3.

  5. I love mixing one block of plain cream cheese with a jar of marshmellow creme as a fruit dip. How can one go wrong with either ingredient? Mmmm….

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] My Marshmallow Creme Dilemma…. (frugalchristianliving.wordpress.com) […]



Leave a comment

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 83 other subscribers