Menu Monday: Chicken Taco Stew

I just love my beautiful friend, Jennifer.

She has the kindest spirit.   You can’t possibly spend time with her and NOT be encouraged.

And I won’t even mention how adorably sweet and love-able her three kids are.   I just dare you to talk with them for at least five minutes and not want to steal them right from under her.   Seriously.  It’s called “child-envy”.    And I have it big time.

(See, PROOF.)

So yesterday after services, when she told me about this new recipe and how good it was…..I listened.

It also made an impression that as she was talking, her husband and three (adorable- I want them) children were all bobbing their heads “YES” along with big smiles on all their faces.

In fact, I think there was drooling.
 

Okay, maybe not.
 

Then she said it was very inexpensive, around $5.00 to make…..

THEN she said it made the house smell incredible….

The final straw was when she said “it was SOOO good, I thought about making it two days in a row!”



 
Okay, you hooked me with that one, Jennifer.

So here we go sisters…..let’s try this one out and see if all this “husbands drooling, kids smiling, good enough to have two days in a row” is actually a winner!!

CHICKEN TACO STEW (Crockpot)

1 Diced Onion
1 16oz can Black Beans (rinsed and drained)
1 16oz can Kidney Beans (rinsed and drained)
1 16oz can Corn (I did not drain)
1 8oz can of Tomato Sauce (Got mine at Aldi)
2 14.5oz cans of Diced Tomatos with Chilis aka:Rotel (this makes it pretty spicy you might want to do 1 regular can of diced tomatos and then one with the chilis. I also drained one can and used the juice in the other)
1 package of Taco Seasoning
Chicken

Dump all ingredients into your crock pot except the chicken. Mix together until taco season is evenly disbursed. Place Chicken on top the mixture (I used 2 giant boneless skinless chicken breasts, they were just over a pound for the two of them). Cook for 5-6 hours on low (or 3-4 on high). Take chicken out of the crock pot shred the chicken. Put the shredded chicken back into the crock pot and stir. At this point it is done. I left mine in on warm for awhile just cause it wasnt dinner time yet.

🙂

I found this beautiful photo at By Your Hands… looks like the same recipe, looks like she adds 1 1/2 cup of chicken broth as well.  Looks like a nice blog to check out!

(She also mentioned that you can use ground beef as well:)

 
I’m off to Save-A-Lot to grab the few ingredients I don’t have yet right now!!



 
Loving it when great sisters encourage me with great recipes,

 
P.S.  Thanks Jennifer  🙂

Comments
5 Responses to “Menu Monday: Chicken Taco Stew”
  1. Stephanie Lee says:

    I think I’ll be trying this one out… thanks! 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    Can’t wait to try it!!! Thanks!!

  3. Tarah says:

    I make that too! Topped with sour cream and shredded monteray jack cheese and even sometimes crushed tortilla chips, it is one of my top favorite meals. Cheap, easy, healthy, and super duper good!

  4. Dolores Jensen says:

    My mom makes this but with ground beef. We have it a lot. Good with a scoop of rice in the bowl too. Sounds great with chicken.

  5. Amanda says:

    I’m making this tonight! I’ve been looking forward to making this 😀

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 85 other followers

