Cooking Spray: A Cheaper Way!

Sorry I’ve been MIA for the past few days, I’ve been dealing in….

Doctors, ultrasounds, vitamins, more doctors, ultrasounds, blood tests, and now progesterone

And thankful for all of it.

🙂

 

Back to saving money…..

 

So you know that “cooking spray” that makes frying, baking, and general cooking soo much easier??

 

(Of course, I’ve never actually bought this brand, the “off brand” is much cheaper!)

Well, for a while…..I stopped buying it.


Yep.  Did you know that you can just *pour* a tiny bit of vegetable oil into your pan and wipe it around with your fingers?   (I learned this from a dear sister in Christ….thanks Susan!)


However, recently, as I was snooping around happened to notice an invitation to a “Pampered Chef” party on my mom’s kitchen counter….

 

I quickly asked her if she would pick me up one of these….

 

 

My sister in law has one…..you fill it half way with regular vegetable oil…then put the cap on and PUMP IT UP…..(it takes about 10 pumps)

 

 

And whalla!!  Cooking spray!! And the best part is, it will be virtually free from here on out!!

(And by the way, it really helps if you have a really generous mama who won’t let you pay for the pump.  I love my mama.)

 

Lots.

 

And check out what I came across while looking up the oil spritzer….

You fill it half way up with hand soap, and the other half with water.  When you pump it up, it turns into “foam”……..stretching your soap (and your money) twice as far!

 

Now just to wait for mama to get invited to another party……

 

Saving money in the kitchen for the Glory of God,

 

 

 

*(Feature Image Photo Credit)

Comments
11 Responses to “Cooking Spray: A Cheaper Way!”
  1. Liz W says:

    You can do the hand soap at home if you already have one of the foaming hand soap pumps. I use 1/3soap to 2/3 water in them and they work forever before they break….and you can get them on sale or find them at dollar tree for cheap! 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    PAM and aerosol sprays also will destroy your non stick pans. The propellant they use causes a build up that is near impossible to get off. Needless to say if you have a build up they are no longer non stick. So using just a little oil or the spray pumps is not only frugal but better for your cookware.

  3. Kathy Hoelzer says:

    Just a quick note. Vegetable oil works great but….. for a healthier spray use olive oil. It is more expensive but the

    burning temperature is higher and olive oil is a lot better for you! My dear husband researched this and let me in on

    the facts. We even use it for pancakes and eggs.

  4. CAROL says:

    I had one of those PC ones for oil & it must have been defective. It just never worked well, at all. I have saved the pumper bottles from hand soaps & reuse those with something less expensive. Works beautifully.
    CAS

  5. Amanda says:

    I had one from PC as well and thought MINE was defective cause it never worked. Hmmm

  6. Amber says:

    Hey, I don’t know if you’ve heard of MISTO its only $10 at Bed Bath and Beyond and it sounds like it works the same way as the Pampered Chef pump.

    Here is the link to find it 🙂

    http://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/product.asp?SKU=11318517

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 86 other followers

