Top Tip Tuesday: Consignment Sale Tips

Have you gotten involved with the “Consignment Sale Craze” yet?  If not… you totally should!! It’s amazing how much money you can make, and the great finds that are just WAITING for you!!

Photo Credit

These sales are ALL OVER the country…  just google “consignment sale + (your city)” and they should pop right up!!

 

Someone had asked for a list of my “best” tips… so here goes!

Start a “PILE”- Find a spot (out of the way- I use my little guy’s closet) where you can “dump” things to sell as you find them.  Don’t worry, you can always change your mind later!

Start tagging EARLY and a LITTLE BIT AT A TIME–  Our tags print out six per sheet, so I like to find six items, enter them, tag them, and put them in a BLACK TRASH BAG.  Do this a little bit every day or so, and you will be AMAZED at the amount of items you will find to sell!!

Don’t forget to clean out these spots:

  • kid’s toy boxes  (toys do REALLY well!)
  • kid’s clothes
  • kid cups/plates, etc.
  • Dress up clothes/Costumes
  • bedding (I’ve sold toddler bedding, crib sheets, baby blankets, sleeping bags, and even queen size bedding in the “Mom Spot”)
  • VHS & DVD’s
  • Puzzles (I usually sell about half my stash and buy replacements at the sale!)
  • Books
  • Games
  • Big Stuff- CHECK YOUR GARAGE!!  Ride on toys/strollers/baby equipment/furniture, etc. do AWESOME!
  • Home Decor

“Where is the best place to buy……?”

  • Hangers- Call your mom, your mother in law, and your sister……you would be shocked at the amount of hangers you can get this way!  The Goodwill usually sells bunches of 10 hangers for $.50  (This is where I get most of mine).
  • Cardstock (for tags)-  Walmart is much cheaper than the “Office” stores
  • Safety Pins– DollarTree has packets of 200 for $1.00!  They aren’t the best quality, but that’s alright!  (Next best would be Hobby Lobby with a 40% off coupon)
  • Tagging Gun–  (optional)  This is my first year to have one of these, and they are AWESOME!!  A friend of mine just got hers off eBay for $4.00…… now THAT’S a deal!

Here’s what my tagging gun looks like…(FYI) 🙂

These little zip tie type things are great for shoes, and certain toys (Dollar store, Home Depot, Office Stores)

Well, I think that’s it!  If you have any other questions, feel free to ask in the “Comments” section…… I’m by no means an expert, but I have definitely done it before!!

(To find out more about the sale I am involved in:)

Visit the StorkLady’s website…..HERE

Visit her Facebook page… HERE

or read all about my experience… HERE

Love you!

frugalchristianliving

Comments
2 Responses to “Top Tip Tuesday: Consignment Sale Tips”
  1. Sharon says:

    Great post about consignment! I have begun stash! I wanted to know what you do about small
    toys. My house is full of little pieces of toys that don’t really go with anything else. The kids occasionally
    do play with them but I have too many. Do you think things like this would sell in a consignment situation?
    Should I put a bag of items together and sell it that way or sell them individually?

    Any other suggestions would be great.

    • Yes, I bag them up and sell them! I usually have a bag of toddler toys, boy toys, and girl toys. I think maybe the “key” is separating them well (ex: girl’s jewelry, big boy action figures, toddler cars, etc) as much as possible. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 87 other followers

