How to Raise Perfect Kids…

Do you ever get discouraged when checking your facebook only to find that it seems as if everyone else has such an awesome, “put together” life?

Like…..when “everyone else” is cooking a gourmet dinner…..while having a hot apple pie steaming in the oven….with perfectly groomed children……who have just won the school’s metal of honor that day??

 

Um, yeah.  Me neither.

 

And by the way, if you don’t have children, these are just some old pictures I found on the internet somewhere…. (Some parents, sheesh.)

……………………….

 

I don’t allow fits.  Usually, I would start in with a very stern lecture on “self control”.

But not this day.  This day I was tired.  Instead, I breathed a defeated *sigh*, picked up the camera sitting next to me, and started shooting.

No words from me, just the camera “clicking” away.

(I know, sad…isn’t it?)

(And lest you think this is no small matter……it wasn’t.)

 

 

I had turned the television off.

 

(The camera has somehow beckoned her closer….)

 

(Oh my.)

 

(And closer.)

 

(I hope you realize how hard it was for me to NOT edit out that messy face.)

Keeping it real, folks.

 

 

I’m not sure what just happened here, but this all ended with her skipping off to the other room without a word from me.

 

I won’t show you what she did before skipping off, though.

Okay, so maybe I will.

A full on rock concert complete with air guitar.

 

**sigh**

 

My dear church sisters are such an encouragement to me.  Sometimes I am encouraged by how well behaved, respectful, and self controlled their children are.

I ask them, “How do you do it??”   Then they give me wonderful godly advice on how to train and teach children.   I so appreciate that.

 

And sometimes…….they are very honest with me.  “My kids are sinners,” they say.  “My kids fight,”  they confide to me.  “We are all very bad sinners, no matter who we are,”  they remind me.

And I appreciate that even more.

 

Because you know what?

 

My kids are sinners.

Know what else?

So am I.


But you know the very best most awesome most fabulous part about that?

 

Christ didn’t die for righteous people. He died for SINNERS.

Of which I am the worst.

13Go and learn what this means, ‘I desire mercy, and not sacrifice.’ For I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.”

-Matthew 9:13

 

Good and righteous people don’t need the gospel.   But I do.  And so do my kids.

 

So thankful for Christ, who has given HIS RIGHTEOUSNESS over to the ones who deserve it the least,

frugalchristianliving

 

P.S…..And because I love her so…..here she is in one of those really good moments….

 

P.S…This post was linked to the “Weekly Wrap Up” at “Weird Unsocialized Homeschoolers”.…..click HERE to join in the fun!

Comments
One Response to “How to Raise Perfect Kids…”
  1. Kathy Hoelzer says:

    Awesome Melissa!

    Kind of funny – I took a camera to work yesterday and took pictures. One of my 3rd grade boys was not listening and really goofing around. It is all on my camera. I too did not say a word! A few of the kids were whispering she has PROOF!

    I just laughed.

    It is hard being the child or wife of a pastor. I wanted my kids to be perfect. They were not – neither was I. I felt like a failure many times. I still do. I do know that Rick and I raised our kids the way we felt God was leading. We made hard decisions the same way. We are still praying and asking God’s guidance on all the different aspects of our lives. This includes our adult children and our WONDERFUL grandchildren!!!

    Thanks for your words of encouragement.

    One word of advice we got from an older member of the church family when ours were young. “Do not ever say or think my kid will never do that or act like that. Because they just might – You never know”

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 85 other followers

