Top Tip Tuesday: 2 Things Mama Told Me Never to “Skimp” on…

Growing up, mama was always a very careful “saver”.

She made all of our clothes….

Never kept snacks of any kind in the house…

Made her soups watery to stretch them further….

Hot dogs and mac & cheese definitely had its place on the monthly meal socket…

A very rare trip to MacDonald’s was always preceded by the following speech, “You can have ONE thing.  A hamburger OR french fries, but not both.”

She always went with generic when cheaper…

 

But in all her “frugalness” she always told me to never skimp on two things…

 

1.  Laundry Detergent

Photo Credit

Once your clothes start looking “dingy” there’s no going back….(they also last through more children when taken care of, and it’s better for resale purposes)

I tried the whole “homemade laundry detergent” thing a while back, and while it was very cheap to make, I wasn’t able to get stains out, and sure enough, everything began to take on a “dingy” look.

I use two exceptions to this:

  • Darker Clothes (since color and stains don’t matter as much with darker colors, I sometimes keep way cheap detergent just for dark loads to make the more expensive detergent “stretch”.)
  • Extremely tight money situations (It’s not worth going into debt over)

and….

2.  Toothpaste

Photo Credit

You only get one set of teeth, and they are very expensive to fix.

 

Thanks, Mama.

I Love you.

Your faithfully frugal daughter,

(frugalchristianliving)


 

Comments
6 Responses to “Top Tip Tuesday: 2 Things Mama Told Me Never to “Skimp” on…”
  1. Jason Vaughn says:

    I would toilet paper to that list. Cheap toilet paper is of the Devil.

  2. Melinda says:

    My mom would add dish detergent, Prego, and coffee. 🙂 Funny how everyone’s preferences are different. Each has his own must have/don’t compromise item. My almost never compromise would probably be the no dyes, high fructose corn syrup or hydrogentated oils in my foods.

  3. Kathy Hoelzer says:

    Isn’t it amazing how kids remember the things their mom taught them. I remember how frugal my mom was and how we would sit down and make a meal plan for the week and then make a grocery list so that we would have all of the needed ingredients. There was NO going back to the store if you didn’t have something.

    One of the biggest and most remembered lesson was that every meal needed to have a meat, a vegetable and a starch (carbohydrate). When we were newly married and I was trying to stretch every dollar and every meal I talked to my mom and she said “you are eating too many starches – you are going to gain weight”. Sure enough – she was right.

    I learned a lot about how to cook and plan healthy and nutritious meals without spending a lot of money. With my mom’s advice and my mother in law’s input I believe that my children had the best diet a kid could have.

    PS When my kids were young – I made everything from scratch so I didn’t have to worry about the additives to food.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I second toliet paper. Toliet Paper and Tooth Paste are about the only thing we buy name brand.

  5. Melanie says:

    Oh, I tried the home made laundry detergent too! It was fun making it, but I was not pleased with the results either. I will also add that the home made automatic dish washer detergent was 100 times worse!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] So, I’m totally feeling like a spoiled, selfish, little “brat” now for what I posted yesterday… […]



Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 87 other followers

