Top Tip Tuesday: Cheaper from Scratch…

sniff..sniff………sniff…sniff……..Can you smell that??

It’s coming from my kitchen.

Miraculously.

Warm cinnamon bread with brown sugar and pecans…..add some butter and more cinnamon on top, and you’ve got a scrumptious breakfast.

And lest you get the wrong idea about how “domestic” I am…… you should know that I used a bread machine.   🙂

(In case you were wondering, that little dot at the bottom of the loaf is the “stirring mechanism”.   It actually “bakes” into the loaf:)

A VERY inexpensive breakfast.   The most expensive part of this loaf was the 3 cups of flour used.

For us “non-breadmakers” out there, did you know that bread is really only flour, yeast, oil, and water??   (anything else you add is just for “fun”!)

BUYING YEAST IN BULK (a HUGE savings in the long run)

I bought this yeast at Costco well over a year ago, and it’s still going strong.  I think it was around $6.00.  I keep a small tub of it in my fridge, and the rest stays in the freezer.

I’m attempting to show you what it looks like, but mine is truly pathetic.

Here’s someone else’s I found….

PHOTO CREDIT

Much better.  Great idea to keep it in a mason jar!  (I might try that, mason jars freeze really well…)

And here’s my bread machine….

If you are looking for one, first try your mother or mother-in-law…..odds are at least one of them will have “scored” one for Christmas along the way.

If not, the GOODWILL is the BEST place to buy a bread machine.  They usually have a myriad to choose from.  I waited until electronics were half price, and got mine for $9.00.  (I reasoned that it would pay for itself in 9 loaves 🙂  Don’t worry about the manual, you can download it online!

Dump your ingredients in the night before, select the bread type (I used the “sweet” setting) and press START.   (I also used the “timer” for the first time last night, it was easy as pie!)

In the morning you will awaken to a beautiful smell wafting through the house…. and a piping hot loaf just waiting for you.

 

Husbands will sing your praises…….

 

Children will bless the day you were born….

I wish you could see the steam rising from this….

 

If you don’t have a bread machine, that’s okay!  Try making it from scratch….I promise you can do it!   I’ve done it many times, and I’m always surprised at how easy and satisfying it is.

Rule of thumb:  It’s almost ALWAYS cheaper to cook  from scratch.

 

Love you,

frugalchristianliving

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Top Tip Tuesday: Cheaper from Scratch…”
  1. michele says:

    Where’s ur recipe? I feel like using my bread machine today. I have tried several cinnamon breads in mine, but they are all not sweet enough.

    • Sorry!

      1 Cup Water
      2 TBS Oil
      3/4 Tsp Cinnamon
      1 TBS Brown Sugar (I added more than this)
      1 1/2 Tsp Salt
      3 Cups Flour
      2 1/4 Tsp Yeast
      Nuts (I added 1/2 handful)
      Raisins 1/2 cup (I didn’t have any, but oh well!)

      Makes 1 1/2 lb loaf
      Sweet Setting

      I put wet ingr. in first, then dry. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 85 other followers

