Menu Monday: Heath Toffee Bars…

Is your stomach still reeling from all those sweet treats??   Mine too, but apparently I’m an extremely slow learner since I keep “sampling” the tray practically each time I go by…

One of the best things about getting together with family is discovering new, easy recipes!  This one comes from my wonderful, excellent, very Wisconson-ite sister-in-law,  Nettie.

“Nettie” just sounds like a domestic name, doesn’t it?   Well, our Nettie is somewhat of a Domestic-Goddess in my opinion.  Don’t believe me?

Here she is making chicken noodle soup on a snow day…

Why yes, those are homemade noodles.

homemade. noodles.

And when the topic of “Saturday night bath time” came up the other day, her husband made the comment that…..

“Nettie puts the towels in the dryer during bathtime so they’ll be nice and warm for the girls after their bath.”

I want to live with Nettie.

But for me the best thing about Nettie, is that through the miracle of CHRIST, she is my SISTER.  And the really cool way that God has set this whole thing up is that we are to learn from and be encouraged by our brothers and sisters.  I am encouraged, and I certainly am learning!  Thanks, my sister.

( honey, if you’re reading this…. sorry, but I’m never gonna be able to make those noodles.)

NETTIE’S HOMEMADE TOFFEE BARS

  • Saltine Crackers
  • Brown Sugar
  • Butter
  • Vanilla
  • Chocolate Chips

(I LOVE this recipe b/c I almost ALWAYS have these items in my pantry!)

You will end up with 3 layers.

Layer a cookie sheet with Saltine Crackers (This is layer 1)

Bring 1 Cup Butter, 1 Cup Brown Sugar, and a dash of vanilla to a boil.  Boil for 1 minute.  Pour the mixture over the crackers. (This is layer 2)

Put sheet in a 400 degree oven for 7 minutes.

Immediately sprinkle one bag of chocolate chips over the top.  (This is layer 3)  When they are melted, spread with knife until the whole top layer is smooth.

Freeze for 1 hour.

Break apart (like you would break peanut brittle) and enjoy!!

(These pictured have candy sprinkled on top, and are from Balancing Beauty and Bedlam….. beautiful!)

I hear tell this freezes well, and is also a great gift all packaged up.  New Year’s is coming, and this might just be one of the things that I bring!!

I hope your holiday is turning out as sweetly as mine is, sister!

frugalchristianliving

P.S… We’d love to hear YOUR easy and inexpensive (especially things that can be made with pantry items) recipes as well!   Let us know in the comment section, and I’m sure we’ll be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 86 other followers

