Top Tip Tuesday: Make your own stain remover- SO EASY!

As my mom and I were standing in her laundry room several months ago she says, “Do you want to know how I started making my own stain remover?…. It only took me FIFTY YEARS to figure it out…(*rolls eyes and chuckles*)”…

She proceeds to tell me the most ridiculously simple, obvious, “duh, why didn’t I think of that” tip.

After your old bottle is empty, fill it up about 1/3 of the way with your regular LIQUID LAUNDRY DETERGENT, then fill the rest of the bottle to the top with WATER.

I’ve been doing this for months now and let me tell you, it works.  It works WELL!

Now for a HEAVY DUTY stain removal tip I learned recently at a Ladies Bible Study.   I’m talking, eight year old boy, likes to go outside in his socks, and you find him running through the garden…. which has JUST had a load of MANURE dumped on it…..kind of tip.   (not that I have any experience with these kind of stains or anything)  🙂

First, keep a small tub in your laundry room.  Fill it with water, a bit of laundry detergent, and SOAK your garment in it.  You will be surprised at how much this helps.

Next, take an ordinary kitchen SPOON, and SCRAPE the stain.  Keep scraping….spray with your homemade stain

remover…scrape….wash….repeat if necessary.

It’s important for me to get stains completely out, for RESALE purposes.  (We’ll talk about that later) 🙂

May the LORD be praised as we fight stains for His Glory!!

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”  1st Corinthians 10:31

Your sister,

frugalchristianliving

 

P.S…Please feel free to leave YOUR stain fighting tips in the comment section below….We’d LOVE to hear them!


Comments
2 Responses to “Top Tip Tuesday: Make your own stain remover- SO EASY!”
  1. Dolores says:

    Another tip for cleaning out a pan that has had something burned onto it is to just put water in the pan, then squirt some liquid dish soap all over the burned on stuff in the bottom. Don’t slosh it around to dilute it, allow the thick soap to settle down on the bottom and let it sit overnight. In the morning just use a plastic scraper and most of it will scrape off easily.

    This does a really good job, not that I ever burn dinner or anything like that…

    btw, cool to see you doing a blog.

  2. Jamie says:

    I’ve come to find that liquid dishwashing detergent–NOT the dishWASHER kind, but like Dawn–is a great carpet and upholstery stain remover.

    My 8-month-old sometimes regurgitates food such as carrots or peas on my carpet instead of the blanket I lay her on. I first pick up the solids and sop up as much of the liquid as possible (blotting, not rubbing/scrubbing), then I squirt some on a rag and wet it until it’s nice and soapy. With a wet rag, I work out the stain. I’ll usually let it stay wet for a little while, long enough to make sure the stain has come up. Then I’ll get another rag wet (water only) and put some water on the stain, them sop it up with a towel. I repeat this until I feel I’ve gotten enough of the soap out. (Apply pressure on the towel with your hands or feet. Any water that may have gotten on the carpet pad will be pulled out by doing this.)

    I’ve even gotten blood out of carpet using this stuff! (Stepped on a nail, and walked it across the house. That’s how I discovered this actually.)

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 86 other followers

