This Week’s Monday Menu….Homemade Pizza

When it comes to frugal recipes, this one’s at the top of the list!  I have my wonderful mother in law to thank for it.  She raised 7 children on a VERY tight budget, and I have learned much from her.  Now just because you are making homemade pizza doesn’t mean it will always be cheaper than delivery…often times the cheapest way to go is actually FROZEN.   This one though, passes the FRUGAL test in my book!

Once you have stocked your pantry, really the only thing you need to make sure you have is TOMATO PASTE! ($.39 at Save A Lot)  But first we need to look at pizza in a whole new way.  There are no set RULES to pizza.  I am giving you permission here and now to do WHATEVER YOU WANT with it.  That’s right, as long as you have crust and sauce…..the creative genius in you can find a way to make it work.

My mother once said that when we were little she used to make pizza with plain old cheese slices.   Now, I’m passing the baton to you.  From here on out, if you don’t have the “proper” cheese on hand, you can make pizza with good old sandwich cheese slices.  Break it up, cut it with scissors, or put it on whole.  Nobody will notice a thing, and your secret’s safe with me. 🙂

PIZZA CRUST RECIPE

CRUST

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 TBSP (or so) Yeast   (I buy this in bulk and keep the package in my freezer.  A smaller amount I keep in an old sour cream container in the back of my fridge.  I bought it 2 years ago and still have a ton left)
  • Dash of white sugar (this activates the yeast quicker)

Set aside for 10-15 min while you are making the sauce. 

 Add to it:

  • 2 TBSP Oil
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 2 Cups Flour

 

SAUCE

  • 1 can TOMATO PASTE
  • 1/2 cup (or so) hot water
  • season to taste (I use salt, pepper, garlic salt, onion powder, italian seasoning, basil…..just WHATEVER I FEEL LIKE at the time!)

Add toppings….

450 Degree oven for 15 min or so.  Lower rack first, then move it up.

Get creatively FRUGAL with your toppings!    Some of our favorites are Ground Turkey fried with an onion…but you can use WHATEVER you happen to have….chicken…taco seasoning for a Mexican Pizza…bacon…sausage…pepperoni…or just cheese… (I love to sprinkle parmesan cheese and parsley flakes on top for looks!)

By the way….this is enough crust for 2 reg size pizzas, one SUPER large (the biggest cookie sheet that will fit in your oven), or one really THICK pizza.  Many times I’ll just make one pizza, and use the rest of the dough for kid sized personal pizzas for lunch the next day. 

Another note, a can of spaghetti sauce works just as well as a pizza sauce. 

Homemade pizza is a GREAT thing to make when you don’t feel like you have “anything” in the kitchen.  I cringe when I hear people talk about buying a ready-made crust…it’s SOOO easy to just whip up yourself…and so much cheaper!   And I’ll never buy a jar of pizza sauce again after making my own with tomato paste…I can just FEEL the savings rolling into my pocket as I’m simply adding the water and spices to it.   Hope it’s helpful for someone else…click print and enjoy, my frugal friend!

Saving money at dinnertime for the Glory of God,

frugalchristianliving

 P.S…I am attaching some photos from Eat Boise         , and Kats’ Kitchen …didn’t they do a beautiful job??  I just made this last night, and that is really similar to how they turned out.  I just wanted you to see how yummy they would look!

Comments
4 Responses to “This Week’s Monday Menu….Homemade Pizza”
  1. Michele says:

    I just made that the other day… Maybe tomorrow we will have a different idea. Great minds think alike 🙂

  2. Paula says:

    That DOES look yummy. Thanks for the recipe. We’ll have to try that at the Brown household soon.

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 87 other followers

