A Frugal Breakfast….CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS! {Jar Mix Series Pt.2}

Allow me to introduce you to one of my favorite mixes to have on hand…..

Chocolate Chip (or) Blueberry Muffin Mix!!

I like to make 3 or 4 of these mixes at once, and then I’m “set” for the next couple of weeks!

My wonderful mother in law found some blueberries on sale (at Aldi), and I bagged them up (a handful at a time) in ziplock baggies and popped them in the freezer.  Then, right before baking,  I throw in the frozen blueberries!

(For the choc. chip muffins, I just put them in the jar with the rest of the mix!)

I tape a little piece of paper with the recipe to the back of the jar, so I’m all set when it’s time to make them.  When I’m done, I “stick” the paper to the inside of  a kitchen cabinet until I’m ready to make more mixes!

Here’s what is written on the front of my little paper…..

Chocolate Chip (or blueberrry) Muffin Mix

  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 chocolate chips(or blueberries)

Topping-

3 TBS Brown Sugar + 3 TBS White Sugar  (optional)

…………………………………………………..

On the back of the little piece of paper is written….

  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 1/3 Cup Veg. Oil (some people like a bit more)
  • 1 Egg

Fill cups 2/3 full.

400 degrees for 20-25 min.

 

So when morning comes, and my kids ask the age old question, “What’s for breakfast?”……..

……and  my mind starts reeling through the options….”Let’s see… cereal?  Toast?  Should I make pancakes? OH WAIT!!  I have that MUFFIN MIX!

 

I just dump the wet ingredients in a bowl….

Dump the muffin mix in…..

Either spray or wipe some veg. oil in the muffin pan, and fill them about 2/3 full…..

Forget to put the sugar topping on put the sugar topping on…..

( I have trouble remembering that part:)

Pop them in the oven…..and whalla!

Morning happiness.

 

 

 

And the extras?

Pop them in that pretty cake dish that you got for a wedding present, but never use…

It’ll give you that “domestic feeling” for the rest of the day, and your kids will love having something to snack on, as well!   (Notice the “steam” fogging up the cake dish?  They’re still hot!)

(You could also freeze the extra to eat another day!)

 

This is just a very basic muffin mix, you could easily change it up!  I think next time I’ll share my new find…..

How to make your own “Shake-N-Bake” mix!!

It’s a lot of fun, cheap to make, pretty in a jar, and great to always have on hand!  Until then….

 

Love you,

 

 

 

This post is linked to:  Making the World CuterMotivate Me Mondays, Market Yourself Mondays,  Made By You Mondays*The DIYShowoff Project Parade*Metomorphosis MondayJust Something I whipped up MondayCraftCraftomaniac Menu Plan MondayLife Made Lovely Monday, Craftastic Mondays-Sew Can Do,Motivated Mondays-Becolorful,  Made it! Mondays-Ninth Street Notions,  Support Blog For Moms Of Boys – Mad Skills Monday,  Tasty TuesdayTempt My TummyTuesdays at the TableTopsy Turvy TuesdayTip Me TuesdayFrom Inmates to Playdates *Get Your Craft On Anything RelatedThe gypsy corner,  Take a look TuesdayShow and tell Not Just A Housewife Sew Cute Tuesdays-Creative Itch Tot Tuesdays-Delicious AmbiguityTute Yourself Tuesday ,Tutorial TuesdayA Stroll Thru Life – Table Top TuesdaysA Silly Little Sparrow – Toot Your Horn Tuesday A Soft Place To Land – Do It Yourself Day My Frugal Family – Talented TuesdayNew Nostalgia – Anti-Procrastionation Tuesdays ,  Victoria - A Return To Loveliness,  Living Well Wednesdays Works for Me WednesdayHomemaking Link Up,  Women in the Word Wednesdays,  Show and TellWhatever Goes WednesdayPinching Penny Party, Creations By Kara,  My backyard Eden ,We Did It Wednesdays-Sew Much AdoSugar & Spice and Everything Nice-Seven Thirty ThreeWe’re Organized Wednesday-Organize Your Stuff NowHoo’s Got Talent?-Night Owl Crafting,  All Things Heart and Home,  Make It Yours DayCreative Share Wednesdays- Trendy Treehouse,  Transformation Thursday, Tablescape ThursdayShow off Your Stuff,  Somewhat simpleHOHThrifty ThursdayUnder 100Stuff for little boys,  Thrilling Thursdays-Paisley PassionsThe TreasuristaIt’s a Keeper Thursday,    Friday FavoritesShow and Share DayFoodie FridayI’m Lovin It,  Fabulous Friday FindsFrugal Friday, Fun For Kids Friday, Tickled Pink*,  Weekend Wrap Up The Shabby nestShow and Tell Friday,  RemodoholicFinding FabulousFurniture Feature Fingerprints on FridgeBlog Hopkojo designs Look At Me-It’s Fun to CraftHome and Family Friday-Home is Where My Story Begins,Categorically Crafting-Someday Crafts,  Friday Brag Fest-Fun on a DimeSweet Tooth Fridays, Be Different Act Normal,

Comments
2 Responses to “A Frugal Breakfast….CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS! {Jar Mix Series Pt.2}”
  1. Dolores Jensen says:

    I also do that with a recipe for cornbread. I keep about 4, quart ziplock bags in the freezer, written on one side is the ingredients for the mix, on the other, ingredients to add to the mix. I just use the recipe on the cornbread bag. Keep them in the freezer and refill when all are empty and you are making cornbread again. When dipping the dry ingredients for the bowl, fill the four bags too. Who needs “Jiffy”. We bake everything from scratch, cheaper and better for you too. If you have dry cornbread, refreeze that and use it for cornbread dressing.

Leave a Reply

  • Click to receive an email when this blog is updated...

    Join 73 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

